What is Oil Pulling and why you should do it

20151120_100044

What in the world is OIL PULLING?

Oil pulling,  is an ancient Ayurvedic dental technique that involves swishing a tablespoon of oil in your mouth on an empty stomach for around 20 minutes. This action supposedly draws out toxins in your body, primarily to improve oral health but also to improve your overall health.

The alleged benefits of oil pulling cover everything from curing gingivitis to facilitating weight loss. Some users even report a decrease in gray hair! However, since oil pulling is not a scientifically documented procedure, claims like these should probably be taken with a grain of salt. On the other hand, since oil pulling is such an easy and virtually harmless practice, it’s certainly worth a try to see if some real benefits can be had. Here is a list of some of the benefits associated with oil pulling:

– Whiter, straighter teeth
– Healthy, pink gums
– Increased energy
– Decreased migraine headaches
– Clear sinuses
– Less severe asthma
– Decreased allergies
– Improved PMS symptoms
– Regulated menstrual cycles
– Better sleep
– Clear skin

20151120_100030

How I incorporate Oil Pulling into my daily routine

Traditionally unrefined sunflower or sesame oil was used for oil pulling.  But after much research, and even being more inspired by countless great reviews from author and Naturopathic physician Dr. Bruce Fife’s book, The Coconut Oil MiracleI have chosen to use COCONUT OIL. Other oils I have experimented and used have been EVOO and Sesame oil but prefer the coconut oil because it just taste so much better and so many more added benefits (specifically the lauric acid).

Upon rising and after drinking a quick glass of water, I start by putting a tablespoon of coconut oil in my mouth.  I usually keep my jar stored in a cool place, as its just easier to scoop and quicker to liquify.  Next, I continue by swishing 1-2 tbsp of oil throughout my mouth for about 15-20 minutes.  Then once I’m done, then I spit the oil in the toilet (I don’t suggest spitting out in your sink as it may cause to clog), I follow it up by rinsing with warm water and himalayan salt.  Finally, I brush my teeth as normal using a non-flouride toothpaste and you’re done.  You will instantly feel the difference and will smile with confidence.   I have officially been oil pulling for 3 years now, and can honestly say that the most noticeable thing I’ve noticed was my energy and how soft my skin is.  This is coming from someone who’s suffered from eczema her whole life.  It silky smooth and a lot of the scars and blemishes that I’ve had for years from my eczema are now gone.  The key is to be consistent and make this your daily routine, like you do your shower.  The results will come.

96070-organic-virgin-coconut-oil

 

This is currently the coconut oil I use from Trader Joe’s.  It costs around $6 and can last all month depending on how many times you use.  I use also for my body after showering, hair after wash, and during summer I occasionally get heat rashes and use to heal.   Definitely highly recommended.

2 thoughts on “What is Oil Pulling and why you should do it

Leave a Reply

